Friday, July 18, 2014

Book Review: Partials

Partials (Partials Sequence #1) by

Partials (The Partials Sequence, #1)For fans of The Hunger Games, Battlestar Galactica, and Blade Runner comes the first book in the Partials Sequence, a fast-paced, action-packed, and riveting sci-fi teen series, by acclaimed author Dan Wells.

Humanity is all but extinguished after a war with Partials—engineered organic beings identical to humans—has decimated the population. Reduced to only tens of thousands by a weaponized virus to which only a fraction of humanity is immune, the survivors in North America have huddled together on Long Island. But sixteen-year-old Kira is determined to find a solution. As she tries desperately to save what is left of her race, she discovers that that the survival of both humans and Partials rests in her attempts to answer questions about the war's origin that she never knew to ask.

Playing on our curiosity of and fascination with the complete collapse of civilization, Partials is, at its heart, a story of survival, one that explores the individual narratives and complex relationships of those left behind, both humans and Partials alike—and of the way in which the concept of what is right and wrong in this world is greatly dependent on one's own point of view.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Hardcover, 1st Edition, 468 pages

Published February 28th 2012 by Balzer + Bray 


Review
How does a species survive?
When everything is in the world is meant to eliminates for what you are . . . Kira Walker doesn't have much to call her world perfect, she watches and studies babies that dies hours after its birth from the RM virus . . . a virus that is responsible to wiping the human species to near extinct.

The war between the humans and the Partials is halted but why when the Partials have the advantage, but what if there's a reason?

Kira wants to starts saving her species and stop unnamed newborns becoming a statistics over and over again ,. . . her plan? Find a Partial and Study it hoping to find the answer.

Partials present an futuristic science-fiction scenario where human species is near extinct and Partials are the enemy or so history says.

I'm giving this a Four Cat's Tail Ups, because while I like the futuristic component as well the two species that are struggling to survive there were parts that made the story drone out of my interest rather than keep me interested. 



MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
So this is my second time reading Partials, I read Partials back in 2012 and while I had enjoy it back then I wasn't as an active reviewer back then so after getting Fragments and Ruins. I had set my goal of reading series books for the year of 2014.
The time is set in 2076, human population is nearly extinct . . . the RM virus was engineered by the Partials to kill . Young Kira Walker is just your ordinary strong-willed medic, she as well everyone else wishes there was a way to fight the RM virus and save the future of the human species.

My first impression of this world is that it would be quiet scary to have that happen, a virus that kills humans and we became a dying species. I like that Kira was someone who decided that she couldn't let this virus continue to kill newborns since they are the one that dies from the virus. What drove Kira to do something is when one of her friends becomes pregnant, she wasn't going to let her friend's baby become another statistic. 

The plan her plan . . . Find a Partial and Study it. Simple right? nope you got the Voices to worry about, as well the rest of the city that is in ruins. Kira's mission place herself in danger but also reaching her primary goal in finding a Partial. 

Meet Samm the Partials, quiet as well the enemy . . . Kira has 5 days to study him learning about his Anatomy and Physiology and what she found out was an amazing new discovery and a possibility that RM can be cure.  
But Samm also reveals something to Kira, that much to my amazement was not surprising, but there has to be pros and cons about the two very different species. 

What I know is that the partials has a plan, some sort of plan but where and what will be the big question.

There would be no peace among the humans while there's a partial in their area, but that won't stop Kira from getting what she wants. During the time she studied Samm I saw that she was growing towards him, like there was some sort of connection between them but neither her or Samm could figure it out until Kira is in Samm's situation. 

Does the Partials carry the key to saving newborn babies, is Kira Walker a part of that revolution that the people need?


0 comments:

Post a Comment