Sunday, January 1, 2017

2017 Resolutions

Image result for 2017 pusheen

Hey Everyone,

I know I've been reading but not so much blogging, sadly I think it's only going to be more consistent because I'll be in my FINAL semester of schooling. After that I'll be making a few trips, one of them will be Utopia again!!

I can't wait to see all my peeps again, and maybe meet some new peeps as well!!! 

I don't know what books I'll be waiting to come out or what books I'm anxious to read, because I haven't had the time to read other than anything that is in ebook format or something that gain my attention.

Does SassyCat's Book Review have any 2017 Resolutions???
Right now I don't but we'll see.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas

Well Christmas is a few hours away from being done, and I know that some of us are celebrating Christmas on other days. I know I have another one coming up on Friday with my dad's side of the family.

Anyways I wanted to recap what were some of the things I got for Christmas
I got four books >>> Yes you read that right, I got four books pretty small for a book reader but really I've only asked for certain ones this year and my coming up with a list was harder this time around.

Now I know many of the bloggers were unhappy with How the Winner's Crime series changed covers from the original ones. So I asked for all three of the Hardcover books with the original covers and plus I like hardcovers. So I now have the complete set.

The next one I asked for only because I had forgotten about it, The Life and death by Stephenie Meyer. Stephenie's books are what got me into reading books in the first place so I think reading Life and Death will bring some resonance from that even though it's not on Edward and Bella or even Renesme and Jacob.

I do have plans to make some Ebooks purchases in the next few days because there's some great Ebooks out there that has been on my mind but my wallet seems to falter a beat anything I think about buying ebooks or buying books in general.

There are two other books that I might purchase as well thanks to my cousin giving me a Barnes and Noble gift card. I've been thinking about Lady Midnight and then again I forgot about Stephenie's new book The Chemist and that one sounds really good.

The next big items were Hallmark ornaments. Before books and even to this day, Ornaments are my things.

Then I got a few things for my school studies, clearly my parents have been paying attention to what I've been doing this semester . . . writing notes to myself and reminders and using Tabs. It's actually a nice gesture but now I don't know if I want to used one of the Tabs I got because they're cats.

Then I got my other love which are birding or anything related to wildlife.

Now my birthday is coming up too and I really have no clue what I really want so I just threw out ideas. But we'll see what happens.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Book Review: Edge of Bliss

Edge of Bliss (Love on the Edge #4) By Molly E. Lee

Edge of Bliss (Love on the Edge #4)


I never knew how perfect life could be until Blake Caster was finally mine.

Chasing storms with her only doubles the passion and the rush, but as we travel down tornado alley at the start of the season, we run into more than our fair share of nonweather-related trouble.

My past on the alley catches up to me in a bad way and with each captured storm, a wedge is driven between us. The harder I try to hold on to Blake, the faster she is slipping away.

Add to that an unexpected call from her ex, new pressures from the reality show filming our every move, and a job offer Blake may not be able to pass up, and my perfect life is on the same chaotic path as the storms we chase.

All I want to do is make her mine—forever—but one trip down tornado alley might be our last.

Expected publication: December 14th 2016


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
Okay honestly I love Dash and Blake together, even the first book on them had this fire you couldn't burn out. Molly brought that again, with this book but now we're seeing Blake and Dash on Tornado Alley.

This book possess some inner thoughts of how both Blake and Dash feels towards one another, while Dash has some BIG PLANS. Blake still can't believe that Dash is all her and she is all his, but the abusive relationship she had with Justin certainly does give some weight on her shoulders.

However Dash's previous single life has come into light, and while he wasn't the type to sleep around, he certinaly was the guy that everyone wanted. Blake starts to feel insecure but Dash always reminds her that he doesn't want anyone but her.

While Blake is still having self-doubt about herself, I think it's natural for her to feel that after the toxic relationship she had for several years. As far for Dash, his big plans seems to derails but while it kept being derails, he finds that being on Tornado Alley he had hoped that it would be a good run.

The network wants up close and personal dangerous stuff, but they would take the romance between Blake and Dash anytime over watching a howling, twirling black form but Dash knows that he wants to make sure that it's the team's spotlight and not his relationship with Blake.

Their relationship are put to the test, whether it's on Tornado Alley, or something back home. In the end they make their biggest decisions EVER.

I give this five Cat Paws, this book certainly deliver where and how things are going with Blake and Dash. I must say things are going very well. Now my only question lingers "Will we ever seen Blake and Dash again?"

Friday, December 2, 2016

Book Release: Edge of Bliss

edge-of-bliss-final-high
Photo & Cover Design: Regina Wamba / MaeIDesign and Photography
Models: Ripp B. (Dash) & Mackenzy T. (Blake)
Release Date: December 14, 2016
 
Synopsis
I never knew how perfect life could be until Blake Caster was finally mine. Chasing storms with her only doubles the passion and the rush, but as we travel down tornado alley at the start of the season, we run into more than our fair share of nonweather-related trouble. My past on the alley catches up to me in a bad way and with each captured storm, a wedge is driven between us. The harder I try to hold on to Blake, the faster she is slipping away. Add to that an unexpected call from her ex, new pressures from the reality show filming our every move, and a job offer Blake may not be able to pass up, and my perfect life is on the same chaotic path as the storms we chase. All I want to do is make her mine—forever—but one trip down tornado alley might be our last.    
Goodreads
   
teaser1-5
Giveaway
One of Five ARC's for Edge of Bliss
 
 
    teaser5-1    
Trailer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jiw4ifbF2NU&feature=youtu.be  

edge-of-bliss-final    
About the Author
Molly E. Lee is an author and editor best known for her debut novel EDGE OF CHAOS, and as a fourth year mentor at Pitch Wars - a program which connects promising writers to established authors in the community. Molly writes New Adult Contemporary and Young Adult Urban Fantasy featuring strong female heroines who are unafraid to challenge their male counterparts, yet still vulnerable enough to have love sneak up on them. In addition to being a military spouse and mother of two + one stubborn English Bulldog, Molly loves watching storms from her back porch at her Midwest home, and digging for treasures in antique stores.
 
Connect with Molly
Newsletter Sign Up: http://bit.ly/2gqr35d
Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2c6GO2r
Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2cKYIFb
Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2gC6jGU
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2gQdK1d
  cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Monday, November 28, 2016

Book Review: Family Jewels

Family Jewels (A Rose Gardner Investigation #1) By Denise Grover Swank


Family Jewels (Rose Gardner Investigations, #1)
The first book in the Rose Gardner Investigation series, a spinoff of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today best selling Rose Gardner Mystery series.

Trouble always comes to those who court it. Rose Gardner’s ability to see glimpses of the future has gotten her into hot water time and again, but so have her curiosity and her sense of daring. Those very qualities helped her defeat the most powerful man in Arkansas—a man so adept at hiding his crimes there was no way to defeat him inside of the law—but her success came at a steep personal price. Now she’s throwing herself into her landscaping business, trying to live a life that’s as orderly as one of her gardens.

Rose’s best friend, Neely Kate, is struggling with her own losses, so when she suggests they help a local man find a missing necklace, Rose agrees. It’ll give both of them a welcome distraction, and besides, it’s a simple investigation. What harm could befall them? But things that should be simple rarely are. In seeking out the necklace, Rose and Neely Kate find themselves in the thick of a power struggle in the Fenton County underworld, one that could dethrone Rose’s friend James Malcolm, the surprisingly moral king.

The last thing Rose should do is court more trouble, but she’s not the type to step away from a friend in need—and she’s also not so sure she wants an orderly life.

Expected publication: November 29th 2016 by DGS


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW

HOW EXCITING!!!! I'm an die hard fan of the series when it was formerly known as the Rose Gardner Mysteries. But now I think this became an more "Mature" book of Rose, sure she's dealing with some nuptials but at the same time she's truly discovering who she is.

But honestly I think when Rose played the role of Lady, I think that is her persona, she just has to find a way to bring Lady into the daytime.

It seems that both Neely Kate and Rose are trying to move on, but the past always seems to come up. Now let's talk about Rose's love life, her heart opens up to everyone it's a trait of her and while she not with Mason (anymore) I'm not sure how I feel about the recent romance that stirring.

There was even a moment between her and James Malcolm that was shocked me, I didn't think that there was something more between them. To be honest I'm not sure I want her with Malcolm only because he lives on the side of crimes and her involvement with crimes is what split up her and Mason.  I still hope for a reunion for Mason and Rose,

As far as Neely Kate, she is for sure ready to move on but again she wondered what happen to Ronnie because she's been trying to be officially "divorce" to him but he's disappeared. Did JR Simmons or even Kate Simmons have a role in that?

I like that Neely Kate is wanting to put her and Rose's investigation skills to the test but now the trouble lies where they are being dragged back to Skeeter's world. How can they be consider serious investigators when they are in the world of Skeeter Malcolm.

I'm happy that Joe and Neely Kate finally have a relationship but god darn it JOE!!! WHY do you insisted on keeping things from her?

I give this 5 Cat Paws, as usual I love Rose, now I love her even more with she and Neely Kate being the single women with an "I take no crap from no one" attitude. Can't wait to read the EXPOSE Novellas and the next investigation, maybe Mason will have an appearance?

Strap in your heels, Sparkles Investigation is coming. 

No really I hope Rose can get Neely Kate to come up with something much more serious.

Saturday, November 26, 2016

Book Review: Disruption

Disruption (Disruption #1) by Jessica Shirvington


Disruption (Disruption, #1)
The heart-stopping first chapter in bestselling author Jessica Shirvington's Disruption series.

What if a microchip could identify your perfect match?

What if it could be used against you and the ones you love?

Eight years ago, Mercer Corporation's M-Bands became mandatory. An evolution of the smartphone, the bracelets promised an easier life. Instead, they have come to control it.

Two years ago, Maggie Stevens watched helplessly as one of the people she loved most was taken from her, shattering her world as she knew it. Now, Maggie is ready. And Quentin Mercer - heir to the M-Corp empire - has become key to Maggie's plan.

But as the pieces of her dangerous design fall into place, could Quentin's involvement destroy everything she's fought for?

In a world full of broken promises, the ones Maggie must keep could be the most heartbreaking.

Paperback, 416 pages
Expected publication: October 4th 2016 by HarperCollins (first published April 1st 2014)
MEOW . . . MEOW . . .MEOW 
In a world where your perfect match is found through a microchip, but for Maggie her perfect match is specialty engineered in order to get into the heart of the Mercer Corporation in search of her father.

What's interesting about Maggie as a character that she willing to risk everything just to find her father, but when loose pieces are involved she finds it harder to be reckless not that it's had stop her before.

While the pace of the book was gradual, I liked it. There were moments that I liked when Maggie started showing more of an interest into Quentin because she needs him just like he does. But Quentin's reasons were much more greater because he stands to lose almost everything he knows until the truth was finally revealed.

I have to be honest when the ending came through, I was shocked I did not expect to see that happen even more so when Maggie starts losing everything too.

Now there was clearly no romance between Quentin and Maggie, it was slow and just kind of a spur of a moment kind of thing. But still no fireworks. But in the end it's seem that Maggie is starting to see beyond her mind it was a little too late but Quentin made it very apparent that he had started to have feelings for her.

When Maggie was in the Mercer Household, I have to say that she was playing in the lion's den and that is a very dangerous situation in itself. In the end of the book it had clearly showed that nothing goes undetected but now where does Maggie's plan go from here?

I love the idea from many years ago when I learned about this book and I still love the idea even years later and finally getting a chance to read it.

I give this an 4 Cat Paws UP, that ending was pretty intense and shocking it was probably one of the best cliff hanger I've read so far. I can't wait to see what happen in the second book.

    

Monday, November 21, 2016

Book Release: Crown Jewels

SBPR-CR-RB (1).jpg


Crown Jewels by Ella James Publication Date: November 20th, 2016 Genre: Contemporary Romance

crown jewels.jpg

Synopsis:

From USA Today bestseller Ella James...
After that close-up of his package on the sailboat in Morocco, TMZ started calling him Crown Jewels.
Not that I keep track of Prince Liam. Definitely don’t stalk him online like my friends do. I’m out of that scene now. My family’s reality show might still be running, but I’ve been off-screen for a while. When people pass me on the sidewalk, they might squint, but most of them don’t scream “Lucy Rhodes” and ask about my love of Lucky Charms or how my broken toe healed.
Prince Liam—my stalking his Instagram—that’s just for fun. It’s my dirty little secret. Trust me, I’m the only woman in the world who doesn’t actually want him.
Except I’m back in the Hamptons for the first time in two years. I’m at a party, and Prince Manwhore is here as well. I tell myself that smile has no effect on me. That his ridiculous charisma is a parlor trick I see right through.
After our one night together, no one knows that I succumbed. It doesn’t matter. It meant nothing. Not until I see those two pink lines.
** Crown Jewels is an 80,000-word contemporary romance novel with no cliffhanger ending.
It meant nothing (1).jpg

Add to Goodreads

AN (7).png

Purchase Links:

About the Author:

Ella James is the USA Today bestselling author of fifteen teen and adult love stories. She's an angst-a-holic who loves exploring difficult situations and the emotions of the people caught up in them. Also, smut. But always, always romance.
Ella's obsessions include vanilla cream soda, hiking, other obscure, crunchy stuff like rock collecting, and the antics of her 2.5 little monsters. (Monsters 1 and 2 will meet Monster 3 in November).

Connect with Ella: