"You Can Never Have Too Many Books"

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Book Review: Wages of Sin

Wages of Sin (Las Vegas Syndicate #2) by Michelle St. James



Max Cartwright finally realized he was in love with his best friend — and now she’s gone.Devastated over Abby’s flight from Vegas, Max nurses his loss at Jason Draper’s casino, desperate for another opportunity to take down the man who came between him and Abby. At first it’s a way to forget, but when his hours at the roulette table reveal a new connection between Jason and DeLuca, Max sees a way to disrupt their partnership for good.

And all it will require is a high-stakes heist.

Abby Sterling should have known it was too good to be true.

Hiding out on a beach in Mexico, she replays everything that happened between her and Max, searching for a clue that he wasn’t the man she believed him to be. Than Angel Vitale appears, telling Abby she was manipulated by Jason. Max was one of the good guys all along — and now he’s in trouble.

Back in Max’s arms, Abby is determined to help bring down Jason, the man she thought was her friend and mentor. Doing so means resuming her job at the Tangier and feeding information to the Syndicate, not to mention dodging the deadly mercenary Jason has hired to protect him.

When Max makes good on the plan to steal the money being laundered at the casino, old loyalties are pitted against new alliances. Now Max is forced into a confrontation with Jason and DeLuca — and Abby isn’t as safe as she seems.


MEOW MEOW MEOW 
We're back! 

Things get heated up in Wages of Sin, Max struggles with trying to locate Abby so he drowns himself in gambling and drinking. 

Abby isn't sure who to believe, but she know in her heart that she loves Max. 

Both Max and Abby are empty without each other, luckily they both learned to trust each other. 

For Wages of Sin, the danger is just starting and Jason Draper is no longer going down easy. 

I enjoyed Wages of Sin and I can't wait to read the next book to see where everything takes Max and Abby. Along with the other Mob Bosses, will Max take on the role of running Las Vegas?


Monday, January 22, 2018

Book Review: King of Sin

King of Sin (Las Vegas Syndicate #1) by Michelle St. James 



Maxwell Cartwright just wants to have fun.

At least that’s what he tells himself as he works his way through every showgirl and high roller room in Vegas, burning through his trust fund and trying to forget the betrayal of his old friend Jason Draper.

Then Nico Vitale, head of the Syndicate, mentions the one thing that might prompt Max to action.
Max's best friend, Abby, may be in grave danger.

Abby Sterling is finally in control.

Breaking free of an abusive father wasn’t easy, but hard work, a college degree, and a job in the executive offices of her childhood friend Jason Draper’s casino has her feeling like she’s free of the past.

But maintaining her friendship with both Max and Jason isn’t easy when the two men won’t even speak to each other, and things get even more complicated when Abby’s relationship with Max heats up in surprising ways.

As Max’s ties to the Syndicate deepen, he crosses his long held line with Abby, taking her to bed in spite of his promise never to risk their friendship.

Now Max is in over his head, with the Syndicate, Jason Draper, and the woman he’s loved his entire life. The only way out is to infiltrate Jason Draper’s DarkNet poker game — and save Abby from becoming collateral damage.

Kindle Edition, 285 pages
Published January 19th 2018 by Blackthorn Press


Meow . . . Meow . . . Meow
In a new series set in the Mob boss world, but now Las Vegas bound. The city that never sleeps, gambling is the only way to win and sex is always a bonus. 

For Max, he's got the playboy attitude. But that is just the surface of Max Cartwright, underneath that he's fighting an internal battle. 

Abby rise above all the hardship and she's got a fairly decent life that she made for herself. But something is missing in her life.

What we see in King of Sin is the Syndicate trying to rebuild the world, tear down the corrupted world. They need Max because only he can bring down the corrupted.

And protect Abby Sterling.

This is a great start for a new series, I enjoy every part of the story and I love the best friends triangle.

That ending was a big big cliff hanger, darn you Michelle! 

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Book Review: Wild Card

Wild Card (Wildcats #3) by Rachel Vincent 

Wild Card (Wildcats, #3)
Kaci Dillon is a man-eater.

She’s grown up on the fringes of shifter society, hearing the whispers. One desperate act as a starving, terrified child has made her the first tabby in history with no romantic prospects. But whatever. Eighteen is too young to get married anyway. Still, when she stumbles upon an opportunity to get away for a few days, who could blame her for seizing it?

Justus Alexander is screwed.

Confined to the South-Central territory, awaiting trial for crimes he committed as a traumatized, newly infected stray, Justus has discovered that the tribunal already intends to vote for the death penalty. He has no choice but to run. Too young to touch the trust fund that could finance his escape, he’s betting on a big win at the poker tables—until Kaci, his secret crush, catches him sneaking out and demands that he take her with him to Las Vegas

After a wild night she can’t remember, Kaci wakes up with a ring on her finger, next to a young billionaire who can’t access his fortune until he turns twenty-five—or ties the knot. If she can keep her hands off her hot, charismatic new groom, she can have their unconsummated marriage annulled. But can she really abandon Justus to his death sentence, just to undo her own mistake?


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW

We aren't too far from where Blind Tiger ended, and we are now focus on the not so young anymore Kaci Dillion. The Kaci we knew was a fearful young werecat, born with two recessive werecat gene that triggered her shift.

Now Kaci is a teen, with much to learn. But she has no doubt that being married young was not on her radar, until she wakes up with a ring on her finger to a man that is about to stand on trial.

Justus was infected by a werecat with the intent on framing Titus (his older brother) for the crimes, but Justus's actions still lead to large consequences. So he's running away but then Kaci convinces him that there's a chance to clear his name.

Throughout this book, Kaci has taken her knowledge of growing up in the Lazy S ranch and convince a few alphas that Justus deserve a fairer trial despite their bylaws.

We do see Faythe and Marc taking an very parental side when it comes to Kaci, but they do know that she's growing up and they're learning to accept that as well as this sudden marriage.

The Tribunal are face with changes, some are agreeing to the new changes while some are still set in the old ways. We learned so much about the Tribunal in this book similar to following Faythe's journey, but again we see changes happen.

This book was fill with all sort of elements that I enjoy.

As always I love Rachel's books and I'm so glad she's is getting back into the werecats world again, I have no idea who she should write next but I want more!

Monday, January 8, 2018

Book Review: Deadly Summer

Deadly Summer (Darling Investigations #1) by Denise Grover Swank

Deadly Summer (Darling Investigations #1)

Ten years ago, Summer Butler was television’s most popular teenage sleuth. Since then, she’s hit—what gossip sites just love to call—the gutter. Nearly bankrupt, betrayed, estranged from her greedy mother, and just about unemployable, she’s coaxed into that desperate haven for has-beens: reality TV.

Winging it as a faux PI, she’ll solve off-the-cuff mysteries in her hometown of Sweet Briar, Alabama. For added drama, there’s police chief Luke Montgomery, inconveniently Summer’s first and only love.

It’s when Summer stumbles upon a very real corpse that Darling Investigations takes an unexpected twist. The growing list of suspects is a big draw to viewers, but the reality is that Summer doesn’t know whom she can trust. Someone has written this killer new scene especially for her, and unless Summer gives the role everything she’s got, it could be her last…


Kindle Edition, 362 pages


Expected publication: January 9th 2018 by Montlake Romance



MEOW . . .MEOW . . .MEOW 

I'm not a stranger to Denise's books, I found this one to be somewhat fresh from all her other books. Summer was the childhood stardom, but something happen and her career went downhill. 

She took a chance in trying a new reality show as an investigator, although she has no background and no license. All the show needed was a made up story and her acting as an investigator.

The made-up story however lead to an actual case and curiosity takes over.

For most part of the book, I like the fact that it was an semi-reality/script acting type of thing/ Denise did well as being the "director" of the show/book.

The romantic notion of the story, sure it was a little long ending but I can understand from each point of view. She/he broke their heart, but when one still cares for the other it's hard not to wonder how far one will push to shove their feelings.

I enjoy the little twist between fake cases and an actual real murder case, I was glad that Summer took it in her control to keep investigating her first "not so fake" case because she knew in her guts that something was off from the get go.

I look forward to the next book.


Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Book Review: Eternal Love

Eternal Love (A Mob Boss Saga Holiday Novella) by Michelle St. James

Eternal Love: A Mob Boss Saga Holiday Novella


This year, Santa isn't the only one coming to town.

A momentous question…

A weighty secret…

The reunion of a lifetime with all the Syndicate's hottest Alpha’s — and enough passion to keep you warm on the coldest of nights.

This is not your mother’s holiday.


Kindle Edition
Expected publication: November 28th 2017 by Blackthorn Press




MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
WOW I read this so fast that I had to read it again and again! Bring all the mob boss together for the holidays.

See the source image

The Mob Bosses are gathering in Rome to celebrate the Holidays. Farrell and Jenna are exciting to celebrate Christmas but both are harboring a big big secret.

Something small and shining is burning a hole in Farrell's pocket. 

Created by love and passion, a new life is created.

She's been through this once, she was afraid the first time unsure of the future. She is madly in love with Farrell and the family bond between her, Farrell and Lily are like a second layer of skin. But yet she still think about doubts.

Farrell is all about timing and planning, but each time he get unsure. With the gathering of all the men and wives/partner in line, he needs to get with the program.

See the source image


Will both Farrell and Jenna finally share their biggest secret??? 


I love this book so much!!! Like it's the perfect ending or perfect beginning for Farrell and Jenna, I have no doubts that those two will be having their hands full very soon and Farrell will see Jenna in a new glow. 

This is a PEERRRRFECT way to wrap up part of the Mob bosses, but I have no doubts that they will make their appearances in other Mob bosses stories that Michelle comes up with. 

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Book Review: Through the fire

Through the fire (New York Syndicate #3) by Michelle St. James


Through the Fire (New York Syndicate Book 3)*** The final book in the New York Syndicate series featuring Damian and Aria ***Damian Cavallo finally has the love of his life back in his arms after a very close call. There’s only one problem; their enemies are still at large — and they’re wreaking havoc on New York.

Forced to enlist the assistance of a rebellious Syndicate ally, Damian finds himself back in Greece, this time to hunt Stefano Anastos. But when Aria insists on playing a part, Damian must find a way to balance his desire to protect her against her fiery will.

Aria Fiore has a secret — one she doesn’t dare share with Damian until their opponents are vanquished. Determined to fight alongside Damian for their future, she holds the secret close, knowing he would never allow her to be in harm’s way if he knew.

When they find out where their final enemy is hiding, Aria is more determined than ever to eliminate him — even if it means putting her future with Damian at risk. Their mission takes them to an exotic country, pitting them against the one man who has cost Aria everything — and forcing her to prove that love conquers all.




MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW

Wow . . . I can't believe how much has change since the last book. Damian has Aria back after a close call. Now that everything has settle, both Damian and Aria are focus on finding Malcolm Gatti, but he went into hiding.

Aria is also hiding something . . . something so important to Damian, but she doesn't want to be locked up. Damian been working hard on hunting down Gatti, but at the same time making sure that Aria is safe.

There were pieces of the story I enjoyed. There were parts that many are saying predicable, but I don't focus too much on the predictability. There may have been more I wanted between Malcolm, Damian and Aria.

But overall this book did not disappoint me by any means. Plus that surprise ending!!!

I can't wait to read more of this world by Michelle and I can't wait to read Eternal love.


Friday, October 6, 2017

Book Review: Into the Fire

Into the Fire (New York Syndicate #2) by Michelle St. James

Into the Fire (New York Syndicate Book 2)All’s fair in love and war — and sometimes it’s hard to tell the difference.

Damian Cavallo would do anything to get Aria back — even join the Syndicate. Fresh on the heels of Aria’s rescue in Greece, he joins up with the other Syndicate leaders to take down Primo Fiore and his dangerous first-in-command, Malcolm Gatti, but Primo and Malcolm have aligned themselves with a new enemy: Stefano Anastos, notorious head of the Greek mob.

And taking down both armies won’t be easy.

Aria is still recovering from her kidnapping when she gets a call from the one person she has no choice but to love — her brother, Primo. Determined to help him in spite of everything, Aria sets in motion a series of events that may prove deadly for more than just her and Damian.

Then the violent turf war returns to New York City and Aria is forced to make an impossible choice — save the man she loves, save her brother, or sacrifice herself.
 

Kindle Edition, 287 pages
Published September 22nd 2017 by Blackthorn Press


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW

Into the fire delivers the right amount of action, betrayals, and of course the romance. Two months has gone by since the first book, and the stakes are higher than ever before. Damian promises the syndicate leaders that he wouldn't be involved with Aria, but you can't control love or fate.

He will do anything to protect her.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, Michelle did not disappoint me (not that she had before). There's still so muck at stakes for Damian to take control over the New York Syndicate, but Damian's main priority is to protect Aria.

I think we all were lead to believe that Aria had no clue about what was really going on, but once she got involved with Damian she got a front row seat. While Damian wants to keep Aria out of the mix of the syndicate but seeing all of the other men's women take it all with stride has him wondering if Aria could do the same?

Aria is left with so many mixed feelings, worry about her brother's mindset and worry about Damian. But she knew that she had to choose . . . family or love.

That ending was quite something else . . . I'll be curious to what will happens next.

I give this Five Paws, I love everything about it.