Thursday, March 9, 2017

Book Review: The Daughters of Maine

The Daughters of Maine (Witches of BlackBrook #2) By Tish Thawer



The Daughters of Maine (Witches of BlackBrook, #2)


Through space and time, sisters entwined. Lost then found, souls remain bound.

After being reunited in the present day, three sister witches are forced to separate once more in an effort to save their newly formed coven and themselves.

Foes from their past now threaten their future, and a trip that spans centuries is their only hope of survival. Chasing their enemy back through time seems like the right choice, but will walking in the footsteps of their previous lives provide the answers they seek?

Only time will tell.

A Witches of BlackBrook novel
(less)
Published March 7th 2017 by Amber Leaf Publishing




MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
I was SO SO excited that TIsh went on to write another book! I have always felt that the Witches of Blackbrook's journey was not over yet. The Sisters have finally been reunited but now there's something that is unbalance. The magic is disrupted.

The sisters have finally and truly found each other after years and time have passed. They thought they defeated the great evil but now things from their past lives are starting to turn up. I LOVE what Tish did by bringing in a little ancestry to this book, it seems that everyone nowadays are searching their ancestors (Believe I am one of them). It was neat to see who the sisters were in the past when they were apart, to see what kind of life they each lived. They almost basically have the 9 Live of Cat years.

But I guess now from this book, we're heavily focused on Trin only because of how the first book was laid out. If you haven't read the first book, then you probably shouldn't be reading this review.

This time we're focusing on seeing these sisters try to reform their bond, after so many life years apart. It's clear that it's a learning curve until Trin's premonition grows darks, heeding a warning. The warnings of the past, including the great evil.

They learn that the evil is seeking a way to obtain it's magic again but also try to banish the sisters' magic. How to do that? Go back in time.

But going back in time, reveals secrets and reveals loop holes that could change everything in the present. Can Trin, Caris and Kennedy save their pasts or will the pasts get to them?

I give this 5 Cat Paws, Truly this was an amazing book, I am thrilled that this book came out and that I had the chance to read it. I can't wait for the next book.

"Through space and time, sisters entwined. Lost then found, souls remain bound."


Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Hide & Seek: The Daughters of Maine


The Daughters of Maine
Tish Thawer
(Witches of BlackBrook #2)
Publication date: March 7th 2017
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance
“With vivid scenes and likable characters, Thawer’s series is a definite winner! Come for the adventure – and stay for the awesome witchery.” ~ #1 New York Times Bestselling Author, PC CAST
Through space and time, sisters entwined. Lost then found, souls remain bound.
After being reunited in the present day, three sister witches are forced to separate once more in an effort to save their newly formed coven and themselves.
Foes from their past now threaten their future, and a trip that spans centuries is their only hope of survival. Chasing their enemy back through time seems like the right choice, but will walking in the footsteps of their previous lives provide the answers they seek?
Only time will tell.
A Witches of BlackBrook novel.
Sequel to:
25271311


Author Bio:
Award Winning Author, Tish Thawer, writes paranormal romances for all ages. From her first paranormal cartoon, Isis, to the Twilight phenomenon, myth, magic, and superpowers have always held a special place in her heart.
Tish is known for her detailed world-building and magic-laced stories. Her work has been compared to Nora Roberts, Sam Cheever, and Charlaine Harris. She has received a RONE Award nomination (Reward of Novel Excellence), as well as nominations for Best Cover, Reader’s Choice, and Author of the Year (Fantasy, Dystopian, Mystery).
Tish has worked as a computer consultant, photographer, and graphic designer, and is a columnist for Gliterary Girl media and has bylines in RT Magazine and Literary Lunes Magazine. She resides in Arizona with her husband and three wonderful children and is represented by Gandolfo, Helin, and Fountain Literary Management.
You can find Tish on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTishThawer
A common FAQ: "How do you pronounce her last name?"
Answer: Think "Bower" or "Thow-er". It's Persian!

XBTBanner1

Sunday, January 1, 2017

2017 Resolutions

Image result for 2017 pusheen

Hey Everyone,

I know I've been reading but not so much blogging, sadly I think it's only going to be more consistent because I'll be in my FINAL semester of schooling. After that I'll be making a few trips, one of them will be Utopia again!!

I can't wait to see all my peeps again, and maybe meet some new peeps as well!!! 

I don't know what books I'll be waiting to come out or what books I'm anxious to read, because I haven't had the time to read other than anything that is in ebook format or something that gain my attention.

Does SassyCat's Book Review have any 2017 Resolutions???
Right now I don't but we'll see.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas

Well Christmas is a few hours away from being done, and I know that some of us are celebrating Christmas on other days. I know I have another one coming up on Friday with my dad's side of the family.

Anyways I wanted to recap what were some of the things I got for Christmas
I got four books >>> Yes you read that right, I got four books pretty small for a book reader but really I've only asked for certain ones this year and my coming up with a list was harder this time around.

Now I know many of the bloggers were unhappy with How the Winner's Crime series changed covers from the original ones. So I asked for all three of the Hardcover books with the original covers and plus I like hardcovers. So I now have the complete set.

The next one I asked for only because I had forgotten about it, The Life and death by Stephenie Meyer. Stephenie's books are what got me into reading books in the first place so I think reading Life and Death will bring some resonance from that even though it's not on Edward and Bella or even Renesme and Jacob.

I do have plans to make some Ebooks purchases in the next few days because there's some great Ebooks out there that has been on my mind but my wallet seems to falter a beat anything I think about buying ebooks or buying books in general.

There are two other books that I might purchase as well thanks to my cousin giving me a Barnes and Noble gift card. I've been thinking about Lady Midnight and then again I forgot about Stephenie's new book The Chemist and that one sounds really good.

The next big items were Hallmark ornaments. Before books and even to this day, Ornaments are my things.

Then I got a few things for my school studies, clearly my parents have been paying attention to what I've been doing this semester . . . writing notes to myself and reminders and using Tabs. It's actually a nice gesture but now I don't know if I want to used one of the Tabs I got because they're cats.

Then I got my other love which are birding or anything related to wildlife.

Now my birthday is coming up too and I really have no clue what I really want so I just threw out ideas. But we'll see what happens.

Wednesday, December 14, 2016

Book Review: Edge of Bliss

Edge of Bliss (Love on the Edge #4) By Molly E. Lee

Edge of Bliss (Love on the Edge #4)


I never knew how perfect life could be until Blake Caster was finally mine.

Chasing storms with her only doubles the passion and the rush, but as we travel down tornado alley at the start of the season, we run into more than our fair share of nonweather-related trouble.

My past on the alley catches up to me in a bad way and with each captured storm, a wedge is driven between us. The harder I try to hold on to Blake, the faster she is slipping away.

Add to that an unexpected call from her ex, new pressures from the reality show filming our every move, and a job offer Blake may not be able to pass up, and my perfect life is on the same chaotic path as the storms we chase.

All I want to do is make her mine—forever—but one trip down tornado alley might be our last.

Expected publication: December 14th 2016


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
Okay honestly I love Dash and Blake together, even the first book on them had this fire you couldn't burn out. Molly brought that again, with this book but now we're seeing Blake and Dash on Tornado Alley.

This book possess some inner thoughts of how both Blake and Dash feels towards one another, while Dash has some BIG PLANS. Blake still can't believe that Dash is all her and she is all his, but the abusive relationship she had with Justin certainly does give some weight on her shoulders.

However Dash's previous single life has come into light, and while he wasn't the type to sleep around, he certinaly was the guy that everyone wanted. Blake starts to feel insecure but Dash always reminds her that he doesn't want anyone but her.

While Blake is still having self-doubt about herself, I think it's natural for her to feel that after the toxic relationship she had for several years. As far for Dash, his big plans seems to derails but while it kept being derails, he finds that being on Tornado Alley he had hoped that it would be a good run.

The network wants up close and personal dangerous stuff, but they would take the romance between Blake and Dash anytime over watching a howling, twirling black form but Dash knows that he wants to make sure that it's the team's spotlight and not his relationship with Blake.

Their relationship are put to the test, whether it's on Tornado Alley, or something back home. In the end they make their biggest decisions EVER.

I give this five Cat Paws, this book certainly deliver where and how things are going with Blake and Dash. I must say things are going very well. Now my only question lingers "Will we ever seen Blake and Dash again?"

Friday, December 2, 2016

Book Release: Edge of Bliss

edge-of-bliss-final-high
Photo & Cover Design: Regina Wamba / MaeIDesign and Photography
Models: Ripp B. (Dash) & Mackenzy T. (Blake)
Release Date: December 14, 2016
 
Synopsis
I never knew how perfect life could be until Blake Caster was finally mine. Chasing storms with her only doubles the passion and the rush, but as we travel down tornado alley at the start of the season, we run into more than our fair share of nonweather-related trouble. My past on the alley catches up to me in a bad way and with each captured storm, a wedge is driven between us. The harder I try to hold on to Blake, the faster she is slipping away. Add to that an unexpected call from her ex, new pressures from the reality show filming our every move, and a job offer Blake may not be able to pass up, and my perfect life is on the same chaotic path as the storms we chase. All I want to do is make her mine—forever—but one trip down tornado alley might be our last.    
Goodreads
   
teaser1-5
Giveaway
One of Five ARC's for Edge of Bliss
 
 
    teaser5-1    
Trailer
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jiw4ifbF2NU&feature=youtu.be  

edge-of-bliss-final    
About the Author
Molly E. Lee is an author and editor best known for her debut novel EDGE OF CHAOS, and as a fourth year mentor at Pitch Wars - a program which connects promising writers to established authors in the community. Molly writes New Adult Contemporary and Young Adult Urban Fantasy featuring strong female heroines who are unafraid to challenge their male counterparts, yet still vulnerable enough to have love sneak up on them. In addition to being a military spouse and mother of two + one stubborn English Bulldog, Molly loves watching storms from her back porch at her Midwest home, and digging for treasures in antique stores.
 
Connect with Molly
Newsletter Sign Up: http://bit.ly/2gqr35d
Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2c6GO2r
Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2cKYIFb
Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2gC6jGU
Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2gQdK1d
  cropped-SSFprLogo3.png

Monday, November 28, 2016

Book Review: Family Jewels

Family Jewels (A Rose Gardner Investigation #1) By Denise Grover Swank


Family Jewels (Rose Gardner Investigations, #1)
The first book in the Rose Gardner Investigation series, a spinoff of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today best selling Rose Gardner Mystery series.

Trouble always comes to those who court it. Rose Gardner’s ability to see glimpses of the future has gotten her into hot water time and again, but so have her curiosity and her sense of daring. Those very qualities helped her defeat the most powerful man in Arkansas—a man so adept at hiding his crimes there was no way to defeat him inside of the law—but her success came at a steep personal price. Now she’s throwing herself into her landscaping business, trying to live a life that’s as orderly as one of her gardens.

Rose’s best friend, Neely Kate, is struggling with her own losses, so when she suggests they help a local man find a missing necklace, Rose agrees. It’ll give both of them a welcome distraction, and besides, it’s a simple investigation. What harm could befall them? But things that should be simple rarely are. In seeking out the necklace, Rose and Neely Kate find themselves in the thick of a power struggle in the Fenton County underworld, one that could dethrone Rose’s friend James Malcolm, the surprisingly moral king.

The last thing Rose should do is court more trouble, but she’s not the type to step away from a friend in need—and she’s also not so sure she wants an orderly life.

Expected publication: November 29th 2016 by DGS


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW

HOW EXCITING!!!! I'm an die hard fan of the series when it was formerly known as the Rose Gardner Mysteries. But now I think this became an more "Mature" book of Rose, sure she's dealing with some nuptials but at the same time she's truly discovering who she is.

But honestly I think when Rose played the role of Lady, I think that is her persona, she just has to find a way to bring Lady into the daytime.

It seems that both Neely Kate and Rose are trying to move on, but the past always seems to come up. Now let's talk about Rose's love life, her heart opens up to everyone it's a trait of her and while she not with Mason (anymore) I'm not sure how I feel about the recent romance that stirring.

There was even a moment between her and James Malcolm that was shocked me, I didn't think that there was something more between them. To be honest I'm not sure I want her with Malcolm only because he lives on the side of crimes and her involvement with crimes is what split up her and Mason.  I still hope for a reunion for Mason and Rose,

As far as Neely Kate, she is for sure ready to move on but again she wondered what happen to Ronnie because she's been trying to be officially "divorce" to him but he's disappeared. Did JR Simmons or even Kate Simmons have a role in that?

I like that Neely Kate is wanting to put her and Rose's investigation skills to the test but now the trouble lies where they are being dragged back to Skeeter's world. How can they be consider serious investigators when they are in the world of Skeeter Malcolm.

I'm happy that Joe and Neely Kate finally have a relationship but god darn it JOE!!! WHY do you insisted on keeping things from her?

I give this 5 Cat Paws, as usual I love Rose, now I love her even more with she and Neely Kate being the single women with an "I take no crap from no one" attitude. Can't wait to read the EXPOSE Novellas and the next investigation, maybe Mason will have an appearance?

Strap in your heels, Sparkles Investigation is coming. 

No really I hope Rose can get Neely Kate to come up with something much more serious.