Tuesday, May 13, 2014

Book Review: Uninvited

Uninvited (Uninvited #1) by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited (Uninvited, #1)The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Hardcover, 384 pages

Published January 28th 2014 by HarperTeen 




Book Review 
What would you do if you have the killer gene? The gene that defines who you're going to be no matter what. Davy's life was perfect until the genetic test that turned her world upside down, now she faces a new school, new threats, new rules.

Uninvited brings a new perceptive of how genetics could define who you are, no matter if it was nature or nurture. 

Davy will have to prove not only herself but to others that she is not what the genetics say she is, but one wrong move will mark her for life.  Can Davy survive the new world, new rules?

Uninvited is a twisting new thriller that put you on the edge of your seat, wondering will genetics be the new identifier for anything. 

I love this book! That it such a PUURFECT, the whole idea of having a killer gene is brillant! I can't wait for book two and see what Davy's life has in stores. 


MEOW . . . MEOW . . . MEOW
When I heard about this book, it went on the top of my list to read/buy when it came out however I pushed and pushed myself to wait on buying this book. Then unexpectely a month later or so I finally read it. 

Davy is just your average girl with big dreams and big hopes but the world isn't perfect it didn't matter where or how you grew up, if you have the killer gene you were automatically identify as a threat to society and everyone around you. I felt so bad for Davy to have to be define by something that lies in her genetic coding, something she has no control over and everything she once knew was out the window. 

The new school that hosts teenagers with the killer gene was a small and very weird diverse group, one her first day she learns that the teacher is a pervert needless to say. Some were actually social to one another and one was the brooding handsome, quiet, bad-news named Sean. 

While Davy hadn't display any behavioral or change in personally, the government set very high rules one wrong move and you're marked, one wrong decision you are sent to jail. While Davy struggle with the reality of the fact her then boyfriend try to deal with the situation but then pushed her to her edge when he cross a line and then another student decided to used the breakup as collateral against Davy. 

Davy ends up being marked, the most horrify experience and I just want to shout that it wasn't her fault by any means, her shit-head ex boyfriend embarrassed her in front of a whole crowd at a party and she felt hurt more than anything so it was instinct to do what she did but because she was label with the killer gene that made her actions as indication that the violence was only the beginning with her. 

Now Sean drew me in from the start, I wanted to know his story aside from his genetics being label as a killer but Sean has already been marked and that drew Davy towards him as well. Sean has no reason to be protective of Davy but yet he did. He was there after Davy got marked, and he was really to be there for her when they enter the camp.

The ending/cliff hanger couldn't have been any better . . . escaping the camp and being fugitives on the run but at least they're free for now.

0 comments:

Post a Comment